Welcome to the farm!

The Farmers

Caleb Harper


Farmer of Farmers

Hildreth England

Program Coordinator

Farmer of Ops

Jake Rye

Electrical Engineer

Farmer of Electrons

Gordon Brander

Front End Developer

Farmer of Software

Tim Savas

Mechanical Engineer

Farmer of Boxes

Whitney Burke

Administrative Assistant

Farmer of Organization

Visiting Farmers

Eduardo Castello

Research Affiliate

Farmer of Automation

Arielle Johnson

Media Lab Director’s Fellow

Farmer of Flavor

Farm Crew

Douglas Chambers

Lead Backend Developer

Farmer of Data

Friends of the Farm

Media Lab Advisors

Howard Shapiro
Research Affiliate, MIT Media Lab Open Agriculture Initiative
Chief Agronomist of Mars Candy Company

Kent Larson
Research Affiliate, MIT Media Lab Open Agriculture Initiative
Principal Investigator, MIT Media Lab Changing Places

Joi Ito
Director of MIT Media Lab
Mitchell Baker
Research Affiliate, MIT Media Lab Open Agriculture Initiative
Executive Chairwoman of the Mozilla Foundation and of Mozilla Corporation

Nicholas Negroponte
Co-Founder of MIT Media Lab
Terry Garcia
Research Affiliate, MIT Media Lab Open Agriculture Initiative;
Chief Science Officer of National Geographic

External Advisors

Chris Higgins
General Manager, Hort Americas
Dickson Despommier
Emeritus Professor of Microbiology and Public Health, Columbia University
Toyoki Kozai
Emeritus/Visiting Professor, Chiba University.
President, Plant Factory Association of Japan.

Media Lab Sponsors of OpenAg

Lee Kum Kee

Philanthropic Sponsors of OpenAg

General Mills
Marin Community Foundation
National Geographic

Material and Technology Donation made to OpenAg

Dosatron International
ILS Lighting
Indoor Harvest
JR Peters
Method 7
Mozilla Foundation
Seed Savers Exchange
Smithers Oasis


Cinvestav Guadalajara
Culinary Institute of America
Michigan State University

2015 Education Pilot

Boston Latin School
Charlestown High School
Cooking with Science
Dearborn STEM Academy
Lincoln School
Shady Hill School K-8
Franklin D. Roosevelt K-8

Alumni Researchers

Tinashe Chagwedera
Valentina Chamorro
Nakeisha Gervais
Rei Goffer
Daniel Goodman
Zach Green
Lauren Hitchings
Sophia Jaffe
Danielle Kaidanow
Logan Martin
Nikhil Punwaney
Camille Richwoman
Tim Robertson
Jordan Rogoff
Rachel Seebach
Mario Siller
Carson Smuts

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment